Books in the News / Cover Fix

Cover Fix: Awesome New Covers For Classics

 

I know, I know….no judging books by their covers.  But when they are already classics, you can’t really go wrong.  Right? You will come to notice here at Aurelia, that I am a bit of a book cover junkie.  So, in order to indulge my minor obsession I’ll be bringing you some of my favorites in a segment called Cover Fix. Here’s what has my aesthetic senses all tingly today…

Penguin UK has designed some absolutely gorgeous new covers for their Penguin Classics (RED) Edition. I’m not sure if they are available here in the US, but I’d love to get my hands on these for my collection.  In the mean time, just wandering around their mini-site dedicated to these designs has been a wickedly delicious distraction.  I highly suggest running on over to the site, where you can peruse all the amazing jackets, hear from the cover designers and learn about how (RED) works.

Bonus: While you are there, see if you can resist downloading a few free posters of the cover art.  And be sure to follow them on twitter, so you can cast your vote for the next covers to be posterized.

Penguin Classics RED editions – Penguin RED Classics.

Enjoy!

Rebekah

6 thoughts on “Cover Fix: Awesome New Covers For Classics

  1. I fell in love the first time I’ve seen this. I’m not so much into classics but if these were the required readings back in high school, would have loved to ace my English class. Hehe
    Nice website, btw! 😉

  2. Pingback: Cover Story: Jane Eyre «

  3. Covers can make me reach for a book that I might not have looked at initially. I love all the beautiful covers that so many of the YA books have. I also love how books released in other countries have different covers from the US — often so beautiful that I want to buy their version!

What's on your mind?

