Site News

Interview: Miss Jones and Me

I am absolutely thrilled to announce that Aurelia is, as of today, a two-person team.

The fabulous Miss Leslie Jones, (aka Jonesy) has agreed to climb aboard this roller-coaster ride of a blog and join forces with me to be able to bring you even more book-centric awesomeness.

Please join me in welcoming Leslie to the site!

Besides being an amazing AP English teacher, Leslie (aka Jonesey) coaches Girls Tennis, and collects super-cool pencils. Obviously, she’s an avid reader and bibliophile.

I, of course have known Leslie since before the dawn of time…(yah, we’re that old and all-powerful), but since I realize she’s new to all of you, I decided to interview her so you could get to know a little bit more about what makes this talented gal and her mega-mind tick.

Look for reviews and more from Leslie starting this week, and find out a bit more about her, including where else you can visit her online on our ABOUT page.

The Interview

(In which Leslie  “Get’s Jiggy with It”, and I manage to interject my own commentary into nearly all her responses.)

Note: Heavily edited for space constraints, language and fits of laughter.

R: If you could travel in a Time Machine would you go back to the past or into the future?

L: Into the future, because the past is somewhat set. The future is a little variable, I’d like to see my actions impact the world around me, not just observe.  Plus, I want to appear psychic when I come back to the present day and make a gazillion dollars.

R: Yes, but you are assuming that you CAN’T change the future, what if you can, it just results in a different timeline, or a parallel universe?

L: That’s just too effing hard to follow.

R: Ok, If you HAD to travel to the past, then where would you go and why?

L: Dallas, Nov 23, 1963.

R: Umm, because you think you can stop it?

L: Maybe, at least I’ll see if there’s someone behind the grassy knoll. It’s a moment I find fascinating. I’d want to try and see something about it everyone else missed simply because they didn’t know it was coming.

R: If you could invite any 5 people to dinner who would you choose?

L: My sister, Angela because she’s a talker she’d always keep the conversation going.  Jay Gatsby…(Les is now making wrinkled up faces and staring off into space as if the answers are there somewhere).   I don’t find most people very interesting.  There’s just people I want to meet because I’m starstruck, but not because I think they have anything valuable to say. Ok,  John Lennon, Pink, Dracula –

R: Was he a real person?

L: Who cares.  Either him or Thomas Jefferson.  He’s the only person [of the founders] I would talk to.  Ben Franklin tried too hard. But, I really want to meet a vampire!!

R: So out of all the vampires ever imagined, you choose Dracula to meet?

L: Yes, he was the first, everything traces back to him, he’s not the most interesting maybe, but historically there’s something there.  I’d want to meet Edward of course , but …crap, that doesn’t count either.

R: Sure it does. So we now have Angela, Jay Gatsby, John Lennon, Pink, Dracula, Thomas Jefferson and Edward Cullen. I’m pretty sure I said five, but whatever.  Maybe the vamps will off a few of the guests and the party will be more manageable.

R: If you were stranded on a Greyhound bus for the rest of your life what 3 things would you want with you?

L: My iPhone with headphones, post-it-notes–

R: What? Why? (laughing hysterically)

L: I need post-it notes so I can put them on the window as people drive by and speak to people, besides a post-it-note is just the best piece of paper to write on ever anyway…

R: Wait? What would you write?

L: Help get me off this freakin’ bus.

R: They’re not gonna help, you are trapped,  but good luck with that.

L: And, shorter legs, buses are uncomfortable for people with long legs like me.

R: Oh, you poor Amazonian thing. Let’s just assume you have short legs (because I don’t want a picture of you carrying a spare set of legs on the bus in my head). What other THING would you bring?

L: A comfy pillow. There would definitely be a lot of snoozing going on.

R: If you were a superhero what would your name be?

L: I don’t know. I never really considered being a super hero.  I’d definitely want the power to stop time though.  I don’t know what they would call me though.

R: Time Girl?

L: (Ignoring Rebekah’s obviously juvenile suggestion) People would think I never slept, because I’d stop time to sleep, so Sunshine Girl, that’s what they’d call me.

R: (making a face) Uh-really?

L: Yes.

R: What is your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

L: Recently it’s become dutch baby pancakes, they are these pancakes you cook in the oven, I’ve just learned how to make them, they are fantastic. They are like a cake basically but for breakfast.

R: What, why didn’t you make one for us today?

L: I made it for yesterday, but you didn’t come so I had to eat the whole thing myself.

R: Aww, you’re right, damn insomnia. So Sorry.

R: What’s your favorite music genre? Favorite artist? Song?

L: These questions are so hard because I like lots of things. I hate absolutes.  Picking just one…The Beatles.  The Beatles.  Yes, The Beatles.  I definitely think folk and folk rock is my favorite genre, period.

R: Yah, I like the singer-songwriters.

L: Exactly.  Not that I can’t get down and dirty with something else. I can get jiggy.

R: You can get jiggy?

L: I can get jiggy.

R: One food you would never eat?

L: I have no interest in ever eating rocky mountain oysters.

R: Ugh, me either good call.

L: I mean, eating the testicles of any animal–

R: Thanks, moving on…

R: Favorite Cartoon?

L: Southpark. I honestly watch it like everyday.

R: If you could be one of the Greek Gods, which would it be, and why?

L: How can I answer this?

R: As long as you don’t say you want to sleep with your father…

L: That’s just creeper.  I would be Poseidon, King of the Sea, I’m a water person I’m drawn to that – Why are you laughing?

R: Because you are terrified of sharks and won’t step a toe in the ocean!

L: Yes, but if I was King of the Sea there would be no sharks, and it wouldn’t be a problem.  Either that or I’d choose Medusa because she was one crazy bitch.

R: If you could be a paranormal creature, what would you choose to be?

L: A vampire?

R: Why the question mark?

L: Is that considered paranormal?

R: (Sighs inwardly) Uh. Yah. What else would it be?

L: Well then, obviously a vampire.

R: What is your favorite book that has been made into a movie?

L: I  think there are movies out there that are very good adaptations and others…like, honest to God I’m glad they put a face to Edward. But I also think the Age of Innocence by Scorsese is the best adaptation of a book ever made.

R: If you could jump in to a book, and live in that world.. Which would it be?

(Leslie sits deep in thought for long moments. Rebekah almost falls asleep watching tennis on TV)

L: Ok, I’d probably go with The Great Gatsby. There’s something about the 1920’s that has always fascinated me: lavish parties, bootleg alcohol, it would just be such a fun, carefree time to live.

R: What was your favorite book when you were a child?

(This question never actually got answered as it somehow deteriorated into a long excited discussion of the merits of John Cusak playing Edgar Allen Poe in The Raven.)

R: What is your favorite quote?

L: “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”

R: Write a haiku about your life.

L: Oh Jesus No.

R: That’s a good start.

L: (counting syllables on her fingers and laughing) I can’t.

R: What’s on your nightstand right now?

L: Delirium by Lauren Oliver, Over a Thousand Hills I Walk with You by Hanna Jansen, Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard, Pretties by Scott Westerfeld, and Heatwave by Richard Castle.

R: Oh my gosh! You bought that?  I have to borrow that, totes want to read.

L: Oh, and To Kill a Mockingbird because we are getting ready to start teaching that for school.

R: Tell us about your worst habit or quality?

L: I interrupt people. I’m an interrupter.

R: (interrupting) Is that bad?

L: Mostly it’s just because I’m so excited to get in the conversation.

R: (interrupting again) My problem is, if I don’t say it right at that moment,  I’ll forget –

L: (interrupting back) Yes, and I don’t mean to offend people.  l also need to learn the every thought in my head doesn’t necessarily need to be said out loud.

R: What would be your first question to the people of Antarctica?

(lengthy discussion ensues as to the meaning of the word people and Antarctica’s ability to have an actual citizenship. Decidedly it has no actual citizens, just scientific visitors and the occasional axe murderer.)

L: Holy sh*&, It’s cold here.

R: Mention some incidents when you laughed yourself out? Wait? What the hell does that question even mean?

L: Yah, I don’t know what that means.

R: If I were to take a look inside your refrigerator, what would I find?

L: You can go look.

R: (Resisting the urge to snatch the champagne) Wow. Ok, I can report an overabundance of champagne, eggs and brussel sprouts. What are you? A rap-star?

R: If you are alone in the desert what are your thoughts? Specifically what is your first thought?

L: Damn it’s hot, and then – Arrgh, I’m wearing the wrong shoes, because I never seem to be wearing the right shoes for any location I’m at.

R: That could be because all you own are flip-flops.

L: True.

R: Who is your favorite author and why?

L: Ernest Hemingway. He has such a unique writing style.  I don’t know of anyone else that can write such depth and meaning in such simple language.

R: Do you speak with your dog?

L: Uh, I don’t have any pets.  But, when my sister’s dog was here I talked to the dog. “Awww…do you have to go pee-pees?”

(Rebekah almost falls on the floor in a fit of laughter.)

L: So, yes… that happens. That’s normal for me.

L: I think it’s weird that people do “The Wave” at a tennis match.

R: That is weird.

R: What video games do you play?

L: Guitar Hero! Oh, and Rock Band.

R: Ooh. Can I sing?

R: What would you do if you had a million dollars cash with you, right now?

L: Hire a body-guard. Who carries around that much cash? I’m also thinking what kind of big-ass purse am I carrying? That’s like a suitcase, so… like, no.

R: Which ancient place would you like to visit?

L: Ancient China, the Han Dynasty specifically. So many amazing things came out of
there, That would be cool.

(Rebekah goes off on her fascination with the mysteries of ancient Vietnam.)

R: I think I wanted to be an archaeologist in another life.

L: Seriously. I think I did too.

R: How would you react if you were transformed into a fish?

L: I would hide from the sharks! I want to be a fish, but I never could. I would freak out. I don’t even know if I’m a Pisces anymore.

R: Not gonna touch that one. So then fish or bird?

L: Ooh a bird.  They can fly.

R: Uh yah, last time I checked. See, that’s more scary to me because I’m so afraid of falling.

L: Well then I’ll be the bird, and you can be the fish.

R: (poaches a line from Ever After) “But where would {we} live?”

R: Are you bored with this yet?

L: YES.

R: Excellent, can we play Rock Band now?

(Rock band jam-session ensues with pretty much every song brought to an abrupt end by Rebekah’s sad sad guitar skillz and attempts at singing real rock, which is decidedly, so not her genre.)

12 thoughts on “Interview: Miss Jones and Me

    • Right? Although, if I think about it for a minute… If I’m in a small (presumably water-logged) room with both a shark AND Dracula – I think the shark would probably win.

    • @Undine – I think he can pull it off and it’s about time he does something decent with his career. The pictures were definitely a bit creepy. But then again, that can only be a good thing here, right?
      Cusak as Poe

    • @Undine – It was news to me, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much Cusack had that creepy Poe vibe going on. I’m not anticipating the release of this film.

  1. Yes Erin, Dracula. Crazy, huh?? I wouldn’t really have to serve him anything to eat and I’m actually hoping he’d bite me. 🙂 Sharks are the scariest thing on earth (or otherwise) to me. I’ll gladly take my chances with a vamp.

  2. Bex – I just want to say thanks so much for letting me in on this adventure. You are one A-mazing person and I’m so pumped to be doing this with you. And, I’ll make you dutch baby pancakes for the next morning meeting!!

    • Les – You are on for the pancakes! But, thank-YOU for the help. I wouldn’t want to inflict this kind of anguished pain on anyone else! Ha. And, am I still spelling Jonesy wrong??

    • lol. Whew. I really hate spelling made-up names wrong. Real names, well that’s kind of a given. Get it, given? (aah sad I know, this is what happens to my brain on no sleep)

What's on your mind?

