Books on Film

Books on Film: It’s About Time the Perks Added Up

Stephen Chbosky’s teen angst novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower will finally see itself on the big screen. Even though this book has been around for over ten years (1999), it’s been a source of controversy in many school libraries (this I know for a fact!).  The coming-of-age tale about fifteen year old Charlie will soon become a major motion picture.

While it’s true that this novel should have been made into a film much sooner, I’m glad that the names attached now will probably help preserve the integrity of the book. Chbosky will write and direct the film, and the lead roles have gone to Logan Lerman as Charlie and Emma Watson as Sam. Lerman was up for the part of Peter Parker in the new Spiderman pic, but didn’t make the cut – and Emma Watson we all know as the love-able Hermione Granger from those little wizard movies!

Need to know more?  Check out the scoop here.

Related Articles

6 thoughts on “Books on Film: It’s About Time the Perks Added Up

  1. I’m very excited about this one. You can actually pick to win this book at my blog right now…but it ends tonight at Midnight EST I’m afraid.

    But for the movie, love that Chbosky is behind it and love the leads. It’s a favorite book of mine!

    • Very cool! I’m not good at timezone math. We probably missed it. I haven’t gotten to read this one yet, Les posted above and has promised to let me borrow her copy as soon as she’s no longer sick and infectious! Ha. But, I have no complaints about that cast no matter what movie they are making!

  2. This is amazing! Finally! I fell in love with this book when I read it back when I was…jeesh…14 (2002. I’m old). I hate when it takes so long for such a great book to be able to reach more masses. I truly feel if done right, a movie adaptation of a book can help create a bigger following of a book.

    I want Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card to be turned into a movie. With the special effects we have it could totally be done.

    What other books would you want to see as movies?

    • Eli,

      Hahaha, I had to laugh at the old at 14 in 2002. I was…well let’s just say old-ER at the time! But you are right and the publishing houses are starting to work much more closely with the Hollywood production machines. There’s the other end of it though where people will JUST see the movie and never have any idea it was even based on a book, which is sad!

      As for Ender (sigh) I’ve wanted to see that as a movie since I first read it about 10 years ago (and it was old then) it’s been green-lit and scrapped and re-cast and switched hands so many times the past few years I’m exhausted trying to keep up.

      Here’s the latest on that saga!

What's on your mind?

