Contests & Giveaways / This is Why I Read

This is Why I Read: The Patternless Kathy Cano-Murillo {+Giveaway}

Today we are excited to be a part of the blog tour for Kathy Cano-Murillo’s latest creation: Miss Scarlet’s School of Patternless Sewing. You can check out our review of her latest novel here. Kathy also wanted to take a moment to chime in on our new series, This is Why I Read.  As a regular feature offer guests the chance to talk about why we read, and offer insights from the sentimental to the seriously silly into why they personally, or we collectively need fiction in our lives.

Why Do I Read?

Guest Post by Kathy Cano-Murillo

I read because I juggle so many projects in my life – from blogging to designing, parenting and painting. I need to step away from my world and go into another, where I don’t have to do anything but read and use my imagination to visualize the story. Reading calms me, it energizes me and makes me see everyday surroundings in a whole new way. It’s like traveling for free! I usually have three books going at one time – one on my nightstand, one on my iPhone Kindle and another as a book on tape in my art studio. I can’t get enough!

(This series was inspired by the seed post Trivium Imaginarium by Anne Robinson)

About the Author:

With a life motto of “Crafts! Drama! Glitter!” Crafty Chica Kathy Cano-Murillo is a creative force of nature. A former syndicated columnist for The Arizona Republic, she is the founder of the award-winning Web site, CraftyChica.com and the author of seven nonfiction craft books and a Web series on LifetimeTV.com. Kathy has a Crafty Chica line of art supplies that are sold nationwide. She also has been featured in numerous media outlets such as The New York Times Magazine, NPR’s Weekend Edition, USA Today, Bust, and Latina magazine. She has shared her crafty ideas on local television, as well as on Sí TV, HGTV, and DIY network. She has been writing stories longer than she has been crafting. Inspired by Judy Blume and Erma Bombeck, she caught the literary bug in grade school, where she used to draw a picture and then write a colorful story to go with it. It’s a creativity exercise she still practices to this day! Kathy lives in Phoenix, Arizona, with her husband, two kids, and five Chihuahuas. Miss Scarlet’s School of Patternless Sewing is her second novel

{Go Phoenix!  Sorry, just had to get that out of my system.  We adore our local authors.)

Connect with Kathy:

The Giveaway {Closed}

We also have two (yes TWO) prize packs of both Kathy’s novels to give away to our readers thanks to the fabulous people at Grand Central Publishing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Package includes 1 copy of

MISS SCARLET’S SCHOOL OF PATTERNLESS SEWING

&

1 copy of Kathy’s first novel,

WAKING UP IN THE LAND OF GLITTER

2 winners will be selected via random.org and each will receive a copy of the prize pack above.

To enter simply fill out

{The Giveaway is Now Closed

Thanks for Participating.}

Good Luck!

3 thoughts on “This is Why I Read: The Patternless Kathy Cano-Murillo {+Giveaway}

  1. Pingback: Additions to the Tumbling TBR {March 14-21, 2011} «

  2. Pingback: Winners! {+Bonus Prize Announcements} «

What's on your mind?

