Mailbox Mondays / Site News / Upcoming Reviews

Additions to the Tumbling TBR

Books That Followed Me Home This Week

{March 14-21, 2011}:

So, it’s been a while since I’ve done any show and tell of what’s been coming into my place on the book front.  Not because I’ve stopped letting books in or anything like that (gasp!), (no matter how happy this would make my poor dad), but because I’ve been dealing with all the madness that comes with a move.  A second story move involving a ton of books no less (this should explain my saintly father’s stance on the matter).  I’m still not sure how I seemed to have enough bookshelves in the old apartment and here at the new place I still have three unpacked boxes, but I’m just going to assume the books reproduced along the way so what can I do but be happy for them?  Aww.

At any rate, I don’t have the energy to give you a rundown of everything that has made me squeal since my last post on the subject, so I’m just going to pick up from this past week and vow to do better moving forward.  I also happen to know that Jonesy has invited a book or twenty home to her place in the last few weeks that I’m drooling over, so we really need to get her to do a listing soon as well.  In the meantime,  here’s this week’s new books:

For Review:

The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin {ARC}

St. Martin’s Press (June 21, 2011)

First of all, I did do a bit of a dance when this came.  This is an adult fiction debut that was already published in August in the UK under the title My Last Duchess. It has seriously fabulous things being said about it.  And let me just give you the blurb, because I love it:

Growing up in the opulent world of New York and Newport in the Gilded Age, Cora Cash has everything she could possibly want–except a title.  Be careful what you wish for.  What happens after the fairytale wedding to an English lord?

Yes.  What happens after indeed?  Don’t you hate it when everything ends with “I do”?  I look at this stunning cover and I just want to walk right inside the pages of this book.  It doesn’t come out until June here in the US, but I cannot wait to read this.  And I’m already predicting a movie for this one folks.  That’s right, just remember I called it first.

If you are interested in reading this one early kiddos, run over to Goodreads post-haste, I noticed today that the publisher is doing a giveaway there now and 100 copies are up for grabs.  Go Grab.

{ AmazonGoodreads }

Radio Shangri-La by Lisa Napoli {ARC}

Crown (February 8, 2011)

This is the second ARC I’ve received for this book, so someone up there must really want me to read it.  I mean besides me of course.  This is a travel memoir about a radio DJ who heads to Bhutan for a new start.  It’s giving me that Eat, Pray, Love vibe big-time.  And that was a book that totally blew me away with its awesomeness, so if this one manages to come even a little bit close I will love it.  This 2nd ARC came to me courtesy of Read It Forward, a very cool little program whose motto is Read It First, Pass It On.  So guess what, I already did.  This is on its way to one of our readers who was one of the winners in our Crafty Chica Giveaway.  She had already won the books on another site, so she asked us to pass on that prize to someone else and because I couldn’t let her walk away empty-handed, she’s getting this ARC instead.  Well yes, that is kinda how we roll.

{ Amazon | Goodreads }

Wither by Lauren DeStefano {eARC}

Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing (March 22, 2011)

I don’t always list eGalleys received for a couple of reasons.  A) I have way too many of them; and B) They expire, so it’s really more like a book rental, but I had to give a shout out to this one.  Shout out! Because – I was beyond excited at the chance to read this book – it’s a YA début and it’s one of my predictions for best YA for 2011.  It’s a dystopian story  where genetic engineering has brought the human race to a very scary place.  Males now live till only the age of 25 and females until age 20.  16-year-old Rhine has 4 years left to live when her not so shiny world gets turned upside down and we get taken along for the ride.  I literally had 3 days to read this before it expired due to a heavy schedule of tours, (yes, the irony was fitting), but I did finish it last week and will be posting a review in the next few days.  Yes of course I want to say more.  But, but –  I’m being good and saving it for the review.  Keep your eyes peeled for that.

That doesn’t mean we can’t talk about the cover though, right?  Ok, honestly you want to know another reason I included the book in this week’s list?  I will take any and all opportunities to show off this awesome cover.  And I have to say as gorgeous as it is, reading the book makes the cover even better.  It is one of those rare YA covers that has not only beauty but relevance.  Even the dress folks. They did an amazing job of designing this cover to incorporate little details and I love, no adore the folks who are behind this design.  More like this please!

AmazonGoodreads}

Iron House by John Hart {ARC}

Thomas Dunne Books (July 12, 2011)

I have a little secret.  I kinda love thrillers.  I don’t actually read a lot of them though because I suppose I have high standards for them.  I want them to be intelligent and original and take my breath away.  I need to lose myself in them, and not spend half the time annoyed because I know what’s going to happen next and the other half annoyed because what I’m reading is completely implausible.  Every once in a while though, something in the genre will come along and surprise and delight me, and I have high hopes that this will be the next for me.

I haven’t read anything by John Hart before. This is his 4th novel and he’s garnered 2 Edgar Awards and a score of praise, so I’m hopeful he’ll pull me back into the genre.  The story centers around two brothers, one of whom grew up in an orphanage and the other who took a different path and their return twenty years later to North Carolina.  I’m not really sure what the plot is other than that it involves the mob and both brothers in trouble.  I rather like it that way.  Fingers crossed that this will keep me on my toes till the end.

There’s another giveaway going on for this book on Goodreads.  This time 500 copies from the publisher!! Wow, yes 500!  I haven’t seen that big of a pre-publish push in a long time, so it looks like something the publisher really believes will sell via word of mouth.  Another good sign in my book.

{ Amazon | Goodreads }

The Source of All Things by Tracy Ross {ARC}

Free Press (March 8, 2011)

This memoir deals with abuse the author suffered at the hands of her stepfather and coming to terms with it thirty years later.  It takes place in the wilds of Idaho, Colorado and Alaska and the cover alone reminds me of my childhood.  That cover is pretty much what my childhood looked like.  Except I wasn’t sad, I was just thinking about some book I’d just read.  I’ve heard mixed reviews on this one.  I think it’s a really hard subject to deal with and an uncomfortable one to read about, so that the author is brave enough to tackle it at all deserves a nod. I’m hoping to see some light at the end of this for the author and hoping to soak up a bit of the love she has of the outdoors that I remember from my youth.

{ Amazon | Goodreads }

Night Road by Kristin Hannah {ARC}

St. Martin’s Press (March 22, 2011)

Here’s another I was super-excited to receive.  Kristin Hannah’s work is gushed over by everyone I meet, and I don’t know how I’ve managed to not read anything of hers yet.  I think literally all the advance reviews I read for this book were positive.  It’s the story of a mother who has some reservations about a new addition to the lives of her teen children and the tragedy that approaches.  It sounds a little dark and haunting and emotional and I expect there will be tears from me at some point on this one as well.  It has me ultra curious.

And, I just have to mention the lovely cover on this as well.  It captures that haunting feeling well, while managing  a bit of uniqueness with the composition and vague enough to keep you wanting more.

{ Amazon | Goodreads }


Trade:

Whitechapel Gods by S.M. Peters

Roc (February 5, 2008)

Steampunkery!  This is going to be my first steam punk title folks.  This was a recommendation from The Little Red Reviewer when I asked her about her favorite steam punk titles a while back, so I could dig into the genre.  It arrived from PaperBackSwap this week and I can’t wait to start my steam punk engines. It sounds truly great! Here’s a taste:

In Victorian London, the Whitechapel section has been cut off, enclosed by an impassable wall, and is now rules by two mysterious mechanical gods. Mama Engine is the goddess of sentiment, a mother to her believers.  Grandfather Clock represents logic and precision.

Interesting, no?  I have a feeling steam punk is going to be a bit like crack for me.  Consider yourself forewarned that I’m about to take a turn down a dark, addicting alley.

{ Amazon | Goodreads }

Whew.  I think that’s it for this week.  I’m off to go do some reading folks, feel free to let us know what you think of this week’s additions to the TBR pile and do share what books followed you home this week.  I really do get a kick out of seeing what everyone else brought home.

The inspiration for this feature came from a conglomerate of memes most notably Mailbox Monday and In My Mailbox.  Although I am choosing to call it something a little different from now on, it is, in actuality, a participant in these wonderful weekly communities.

Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia of The Printed Page and is being hosted by Laura of I’m Booking It for the month of March.  IMM is hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren.

Just Possibly Related Articles:

10 thoughts on “Additions to the Tumbling TBR

  1. Yay, a lot of new books to dive into! American Heiress especially looks good. I’m writing my New Arrivals post right now and I’m getting far too many books at the moment. When will I read them?

    Hope the move went well. It’s always a lot of work.

    Happy reading!

    • I keep sending out requests for anyone who knows how to stop time or add a few more hours to the day. Apparently, whoever holds the secret is choosing the guard it fiercely game!

  2. I’m so happy you picked up Whitechapel Gods! It is a little on the darker, creepier side, but it really is a steampunk gem. Now I want to go reread it!

  3. Pingback: Winners! {+Bonus Prize Announcements} «

    • @Alyssa – fingers crossed for winners! I’ve decided I’m not going to rest until I have that chandelier. I think it would kinda class up my little one bedroom shack! 🙂

    • Hi Anne,

      Yay! Now two people whose judgement I totally trust on the subject love the book! I’m even more excited to read it. And yes, I think I’ve known for sometime that I would not be able to turn back once I round that corner into steampunk land, but I have addiction crisis counselors standing by. 🙂

What's on your mind?

