This is Why I Write

This is Why I Write: Embracing Dark Truths

We are super pumped to have Vanessa Morgan guest posting today to kick off our new guest post series This is Why I Write. For those of you that are familiar with our This is Why I Read series; This is Why I Write will serve as a regular feature where we will be offering guests (in this case writers and authors from all forms and genres) the chance to talk about why they write and offer insights from the mundane to the monumental into why they personally choose to make writing a part of their lives. We are kicking off this new feature with a series of posts over the next several Sundays. Up first is Vanessa with her post on finding the truth in fiction. Enjoy!

This is Why i WriteEmbracing Dark Truths:

Writing Your Way to Powerful Fiction

Guest Post by Vanessa Morgan

I’ve always been interested in stories.

As a toddler, I listened to my grandfather’s bedtime stories about Laurel & Hardy going on a safari. In my childhood, I buried myself in books. And in my teens, I watched more movies in a year than there were days.

Yet it wasn’t until my early twenties that I developed the desire to write my own fictional stories. I lived in London at the time and was completely obsessed with West End theater. During a theatrical performance of Faulkner‘s As I Lay Dying, I suddenly KNEW that I would never feel accomplished if I didn’t write something just as beautiful.

In the months that followed, I became well aware of what I wanted to write. I especially liked stories that either scared me to death or provided readers/viewers with a sense of recognition regarding the darker sides of people’s personalities and lives.

Scaring people was easy, so I started with that. My first two books, Drowned Sorrow, and The Strangers Outside were supernatural thrillers with one aim: to make readers so uncomfortable and scared they could hardly sleep at night.

My third release, A Good Man, was a mix of both genres. It was still a horror story, but my desire to focus on characters and unravel dark truths was slowly taking the upper hand.

Only now, with my latest book, Avalon, was I brave enough to embrace that honesty one hundred percent. It’s easy to just give bits and pieces of the truth and adapt the rest to what you think the story and audience want to read. I tried that with Avalon as well. It didn’t work. If I wanted my book to have an emotional impact, I had to get uncomfortable and reveal the things I tried so hard to hide all my life. It was hard. It was scary. But with Avalon, I finally became the writer I wanted to be.

about-the-author-button1

Author Vanessa Morgan

Vanessa Morgan is an author, screenwriter, and blogger. Two of her works, The Strangers Outside, and A Good Man, have been turned into films. Her short film script Next to Her is currently in pre-production. When she’s not working on her latest book, you can find her reading, watching horror movies, digging through flea markets, or photographing felines for her blog Traveling Cats.

Connect With Vanessa

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Google+ | Bloglovin’ | Amazon | Blog | Goodreads

Vanessa’s Latest Book, Avalon is available now:

Some cats need nine lives to make a difference. Avalononly needed one.

From Amazon bestselling author Vanessa Morgan, Avalon is the heartwarming and once-in-a-lifetime love story of a girl and her neurotic Turkish Van cat.

With humor, the author details how Avalon made other creatures cringe in distress whenever he was around, how he threw her dates out by means of special techniques, and how he rendered it almost impossible for her to leave the house. Avalon was so incorrigible that even her landlord ordered her to get rid of him. But beneath Avalon’s demonic boisterousness, Vanessa recognized her own flaws and insecurities, and she understood that abandoning Avalon would be the worst she could do to him. Thanks to her unswerving loyalty, Avalon transformed into a tender feline and even landed a major role in a horror movie. In turn, Avalon made it his mission to be there for his human companion.

Avalon is a memoir for anyone who has ever been obsessively in love with a pet.Avalon by Vanessa Morgan

Order Avalon:

Amazon | Amazon UK | Amazon FR

What's on your mind?

