Interviews / Tour

Interview With The Anonymous Source Author A.C. Fuller

anonsrce banner

We have A.C. Fuller, author of the new thriller The Anonymous Source stopping by for an interview today.

About the Book

The Anonymous Source
By A.C. Fuller
Genre: Thriller

Find the Source. Break the Story. Stay Alive.

ONE YEAR AFTER the 9/11 attacks, Alex Vane—a brilliant, carb-obsessed reporter for The New York Standard—wants nothing more than to break into the flashy world of TV news. But when he uncovers the scoop of a lifetime, his tightly controlled world is rocked: his editor buries his story, a source turns up dead, and Alex finds himself at the center of a violent media conspiracy.

AS HE RECEIVES TIPS from a mysterious source, Alex enlists the help of a captivating professor, Camila Gray. Aided by an Internet genius, a billionaire’s sexy widow, and a washed-up sports reporter, Alex and Camila discover a $500-million secret that leads back to the morning of 9/11.

IT’S A SECRET that unearths dark memories from Alex’s past. And it’s a secret that could get them both killed.

Interview with the Author

Hi, A.C. Glad you could visit with us. First off, congratulations on your release! Tell us about The Anonymous Source Twitter-style. (140 characters or less)  

A young journalist falls into a violent media conspiracy in NYC just after 9/11. He must find the source, break the story, and stay alive.

What was the first seed that sparked the story that would become The Anonymous Source?  

The first seed was a vision of a man in Washington Square Park in NYC, watching a murder happen and doing nothing about it. Something similar to this ended up as a central scene in the book.

Do you plan to write more stories based in the same world, maybe continue the timeline?  

Yes, I have two more books planned for this series. The sequel to The Anonymous Source is called The Inverted Pyramid, and should be out in the summer of 2016.

Oh, Fantastic! What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating this book?  

The thing I was shocked by was how much the media has changed in the last 15 years. We all know it’s been changing, but many of us forget that 15 years ago there were no smartphones, no Google, no Facebook. Many of us did not have The internet in the home back then. We still read newspapers. As I researched this book, I was reminded of just how dizzying all this change has been.

I can relate. It’s sort of shocking how quickly we forget the way things were just a few short years ago.

Did you always want to write when you grew up?  

Writing came later for me. The very first moment I thought of being a writer was when I was thirteen or fourteen. I was walking with some friends in the schoolyard and I started feeling like I was observing everything from outside my own experience. Like I was viewing it all not from my perspective or theirs, but a third angle outside the situation. This turned into a story; I was writing a memoir in my head.

Nothing ever came of it but then, in my early twenties, I started writing more seriously. Short stories, screenplays, part of a novel. But this only lasted a couple years. Finally, a few years ago I was at a family Thanksgiving dinner and an uncle introduced me to someone as “a writer.” At the time, I was teaching writing at a small college, but not doing much of it myself. I didn’t really think of myself as a writer. At that moment, I decided to get serious about my own writing, and I did.

Why did you settle on Mystery/Thriller? Do you think you’ll ever leave the genre?  

I like the pace and the suspense of the genre, but I also write what would probably be called “mainstream” or “literary” fiction.

Do you work with an outline, or just write?  

I started out by just writing. Then I slowed down and made a rough outline, only 1 page of the major twists and turns and character arcs. Then I just wrote again. After I finished the first draft, I had to go back and restructure the book, then rewrite it multiple times.

I can relate to that a bit too; the back and forth between story and structure taking control, but it’s always fascinating to hear how other writers find their way.

If you had a superpower, what would it be?  

The ability to write faster.

Describe yourself in four words.  

Tall, fair, busy, fun.

A fair teacher? Such beings exist!

What’s on your nightstand right now?  

Water, earplugs, vitamins.

LOL, that was more literal than I was expecting, but thanks! I guess we’ll have to guess about the books for now!

Who would be your literary wife/girlfriend/friend with benefits?  

Virginia Wolfe

Thanks so much for chatting with us. One last question… Can you share with us anything about what you are working on now?  

I’m working on the sequel to The Anonymous Source. It’s called The Inverted Pyramid and should be out in the summer of 2016. I also have a couple short stories in the works.

Fantastic! We’ll be on the lookout! Again, thanks for stopping by. Now let’s let everyone know where they can find the book…

The Anonymous Source by AC Fuller

Add to Goodreads

amazon_buttonBarnes & Noble

About the Author

A.C. Fuller is the creator and host of the WRITER 2.0 Podcast and an English teacher at Northwest Indian College. He previously taught journalism at New York University and worked as a freelance reporter. He now lives in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and two children and is hard at work on the sequel to The Anonymous Source. You can find A.C. at http://www.acfuller.com, on Facebook at A.C. Fuller Author, and on Twitter @ACFullerAuthor. And you can find the WRITER 2.0 Podcast on iTunes.

connect with A.C.

Facebook | Twitter | WebsiteWRITER 2.0 Podcast

Thanks for stopping by chickadee’s feel free to stalk A.C at his haunts above. I’ll definitely be checking out the WRITER 2.0 Podcast, because I can’t seem to download enough writing podcasts! Hope you are all enjoying your Sundays and we’ll just pretend that ugly word tomorrow doesn’t exist…

What's on your mind?

