Cover Fix / Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday: Wink Poppy Midnight

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday’s is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where we get to talk about the books we are pining over that we don’t get to get our grimy little hands on for a while. I used to participate in this meme, but it’s been a long time. Let’s just say, this week’s book reached up and wrapped it’s finger’s around my neck and said “YOU WILL discuss me this week.” And I am more than happy  to oblige.

In fact, this is one of those books that if I had a physical copy in my hands, I’d be carrying it around shoving it in the faces of unsuspecting strangers and asking with a far-away strung-out look, “Have you read this book? Why haven’t you read this book?”

don't you like books

Look at this book!

high on books

Wait. Wait. Wait! So how do I know this? How do I know I’m already going to love a book I won’t even be able to read in this case for a very very long time? Well, sometimes publisher’s are evil geniuses and this is one of those cases. They allowed a media outlet special access to post a sneak peak of the first several chapters which I’ll link to below. I am not kidding when I tell you, {warn you} before you click that link that I was absolutely mesmerized by those words. I didn’t know what I was getting myself in for. I didn’t know that I wouldn’t be able to walk away after a couple of paragraphs with a snap judgement and I didn’t know that I wouldn’t be able to get those wonderful words and characters out of my head. For all of this I blame Leigh Bardugo. No, she didn’t write the book. But she tweeted the link, and in my innocence I clicked on it, and in my innocence I was lost.

See how innocently it all started? I just wanted to see the pretty cover. I swear. Why am I showing you my tweets? To show you just how innocently it started. It ended not so prettily. It ended with me with a rock in my chest knowing I’d have to wait until late MARCH of 2016 to read the rest of this gorgeous book. I panicked.

panic

I went straight to the Penguin Tumblr to request an ARC even though I was decades early because March was too long for this book; I wanted to be ON THAT LIST.  But of course, Penguin had sneakily decided to ensure against such maniacal requests since my last visit (*I realize that makes it sound like I caused this by something I did on my last visit, poor word choice, I did nothing, I swear), by changing their form from an open request form to a limited choose from these available options form. Smart. But a few hours of digging on the internet and I found an actual email address for requesting ARC’s. I have no idea if it’s even still operational, but I sent off a very polite, apologetic, in no way begging but probably a little bit gushing request for the title which I’m sure did nothing but annoy the publicist that received it. What can I say, in my manic panic, it seemed like the right thing to do at the time. Then I set an alarm on my calendar to check back on the Penguin site at an appropriate time, because all I can do otherwise is wait.

and now we wait Ok, so  enough build-up already Bex, just tell us about the book. I hear you. Your wish is my command.

About the Book

Title: Wink Poppy Midnight
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Publisher: Dial Books
Release Date: March 22, 2016

The intrigue of The Raven Boys and the “supernatural or not” question of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer coalesce in this young adult mystery, where nothing is quite as it seems, no one is quite who you think, and everything can change on a dime.

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

For fans of Holly Black, We Were Liars, and The Virgin Suicides, this mysterious tale full of intrigue, dread, beauty, and a whiff of something strange will leave you utterly entranced.

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

goodreads-badge-add-38px11_zps1ae6e47f

amazon_buttonBarnes & Noble

Why I’m Waiting on This Book:

I literally fell in love with the characters in this book in the excerpt I read. In fact it didn’t take the entire excerpt. It’s told in alternating narration between three teenaged characters that could not be more different and you can already feel a love triangle brewing. Something about the prose reminded me of Harper Lee and the way she is able be so honest and insightful with her characters. It was really delicious. And then reading the synopsis and knowing that there is so much more to come just kills me. I also happen to be a huge fan of unreliable narrators, and I have sneaking suspicion there’s one hiding here. It kills me that I can’t read it today. And I have a feeling it’s one of those books that is going to kill me when it’s over.

But go and read for yourself so you understand my mad ramblings…

Ok, now for that link I promised you: EW Exclusive Excerpt from Wink Poppy Midnight but remember, I also warned you. Go read. Then come back here and add it to your GoodReads shelf or pre-order it above.

And PLEASE let me know what you thought in the comments below!! I NEED someone to gush over this book with!

emma-stone-this-is-the-best

P.S. I didn’t even have a chance to gush over that gorgeous cover! Gush. Gush. Gush. This is me gushing with all the words I don’t even have for how much I love it.

What's on your mind?

