Book Reviews / Contests & Giveaways / Tour

Belong to Me by Laura Howard {Review & Giveaway}

MooreCrossingTourBanner1

Today is my stop on the tour for Belong to Me by Laura Howard an NA Contemporary Romance and the  start of a new series. Hang out and listen to my review of the book, plus enter the giveaway and if you like kick around the tour and see what others are buzzing about this book!

About the BookTitle: Belong to Me (Moore Crossing Book #1)
Author: Laura Howard
Genre: NA, Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: March 26, 2015

Synopsis:

Kate and Noah thought they had the kind of love that could last through anything. Until their world crumbles out from beneath them.

After months of separation, the tragic death of Jack, Kate’s twin and Noah’s best friend, throws them back together. As they try to heal from the horrific loss, will they be able to overcome old wounds or are they destined to live separately forever?

The Review

I found Kate and Noah’s story a quick and easy romantic read that definitely kept me turning the pages to see what was going to happen between these two with such a complicated history. One of the things I really liked about this book was how realistic it was about just how difficult and messed up communication can get in relationships sometimes. How hard and sometimes impossible it can be to just talk to the person that is sitting next to you, even if there’s love. And how sometimes, even good things just fall apart.

So I was definitely rooting for the two MC’s to patch things up, I liked the idea of them together, and I liked the storyline of what was happening with Kate’s family. I think there was room to show a lot more of what was going on with Kate emotionally though. Other than one minor breakdown, she really didn’t seem all that affected by her brother’s death and I think there was really room to bring that into the story more to make it much more emotional and moving for me at least. It would have made it less of a cookie cutter romance and something a little different, with a little more hit me in the gut depth. Instead, she just mentions that she doesn’t grieve like most people and goes along her merry way. Which is fine, the author wanted a romance, and the brother’s death is clearly just the inciting incident to get us there, and she does do a great job of weaving some family drama in throughout, I’d just liked to have a little more on the personal front with Kate’s feelings, I’d like to have seen her less preoccupied with Noah. I think it would have made her a little more likable for me as a person.

Honestly, there was nothing in the world wrong with this story, it was well-written, paced, had a satisfying ending, some great love scenes and a good premise with characters tossing around witty banter (which I very much appreciated). I enjoyed it. I just didn’t fall in love with this anything about this one. And I really can’t blame the author entirely for that. I was itching to get back to my YA/Dystopian/Sci-Fi so I was reading out of my favorite genre, but I really do believe that I can love a book in any genre if the author gives me something to love. I just haven’t fallen in love with an NA Contemp yet. It doesn’t mean I’m going to quit trying.

I really do think this is a good pick for contemporary romance fans and especially fans of NA, it seems to me a pretty good specimen of what I’ve read in that genre.three-half-stars

Belong to Me Laura Howard

GOODREADS BUTTON

amazon_button

Barnes & Noble

About the AuthorLaura

Laura Howard lives in New Hampshire with her husband and four children. Her obsession with books began at the age of 6 when she got her first library card. Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and other girly novels were routinely devoured in single sittings. Books took a backseat to diapers when she had her first child. It wasn’t until the release of a little novel called Twilight, 8 years later, that she rediscovered her love of fiction. Soon after, her own characters began to make themselves known. The Forgotten Ones is her first published novel.

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

Giveaway Time

Click on the button below to enter the giveaway for a $25 Amazon Giftcard!giveaway2Thanks for stopping by, if you want to check out the rest of the stops on the tour you can do that here.

 Feel free to comment below. What’s your take on Contemporary NA?

2 thoughts on “Belong to Me by Laura Howard {Review & Giveaway}

    • Thanks Juana! I’m definitely looking forward to reading more from her! I have her first book downloaded on my nook when I get a chance to read it I’ll keep you guys posted!

What's on your mind?

