Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Falling Through My TBR

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week we do a specially themed Top 10 list, and this week’s theme is:
Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR

So, if we are sensing any sort of theme here since we started doing TTT, it’s this: my lists are always way, way, waaaaaaaaaayyyyy over ten. I felt a little better when I checked the topic this week and they had updated the guidelines and mentioned that it was OKAY to go over ten, it was OKAY to make a top twenty list if I wanted (or in the case of last time a top 64).

However, I also realized that this was a really good opportunity for me to give some careful consideration to how many books I’m likely to be able to finish over the fall season (which let’s face it, is already halfway gone), and which books out of all of those that I’d love to say yes, yes, yes I’ll be reading, will most realistically get those slots. I also know it’s not reeaaallly that fun for you guys to read about all 75 books I wish I had the time to read between now and the end of November.

So, without further ado, I give you my…

fall tbr

So here we go… I broke this down into two parts. New Fall Releases, and Catching Up to the Crowd.

NEW FALL RELEASES:

six of crows

1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – I have this one on pre-order and am counting down the days until my beautiful hardcover copy of this book arrives. I’m a little bit glad I started blogging again after the madness and rush of early BEA ARCs for this book had passed because by the time I knew what was going on, it was too late, and this book is too gorgeous for me to be happy with an ARC anyway, I’d be buying the hardcover either way. It’s just the wait to read it! Unfortunately, this also sort of bumps the Grisha series up on my list too, because even though I know it can stand alone, and I think I will read this one first, I’ll probably be jonesing for more of that world.  RELEASE DATE: September 29, 2015

illuminae

2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – This one sounds so up my alley, I think it might have been written just for me. Super-cool sci-fi, and it’s the start of a series! Everyone who reads it seems to absolutely love this book. I was actually supposed to start this one yesterday and it got pushed back on my schedule, so I’m hoping to dig into it tonight. RELEASE DATE: October 20, 2015

blackwidow

3. Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl – I don’t know how well I hide what a big comic book geek I am. Probably pretty well around here, simply because I haven’t had the time to review the comics and graphic novels and affiliated spin-off films and series that I’d like to, but let’s just say, I’m a fan. I’m a Marvel fan. I geek out with my 14-year-old nephew about the entire Marvel Universe and alternate Universes and timelines and Natasha Romanoff is second possibly only to Elektra as far as kick-ass assassin heroines and my love for them both is epic! I just want this book in my hands right now. RELEASE DATE: October 13, 2015

the heart goes last

4. The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood – A new standalone dystopian novel by one of the queens of the dystopian genre can’t really be ignored. Atwood is one of my favorite writers. I actually just barely found out this was coming out and it bumped a few other contenders off my list. The premise sounds creepy and chilling and utterly bizarre and mixed with Atwood’s signature literary style I’m so curious to see what sort of harsh upside down landscape she guides us through this time. RELEASE DATE: September 29, 2015

two years eight months

5. Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie – Ok, here’s where I admit, I’ve never read anything by Rushdie before. Nothing that he’s written has pushed itself to the front of my list until now, though I’ve always been curious about his writing. But this one, this one – a blend of mythology, magical realism and something almost sci-fi – this I cannot wait to sink my teeth into, especially since I know it’s’ going to be deeply layered with symbolism and deeper themes. I’ve been waiting for a book like this to come along. RELEASE DATE: September 8, 2015

dreamstrider

6. Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith – I will freely admit that I absolutely fell in love with the cover of this book first. I don’t care what it’s about, it’s a freaking awesome cover! Luckily, what’s inside sounds just as good! The concept for the book, spies taking over dreamers is really cool and I was so bummed when I got tapped to do an interview with the author instead of a review for our Sunday Street Team in October. Okay, I’m stil psyched to interview Lindsay, I just really wanted to read the book, damnit! I’m still watching the mailbox, hoping a review copy might magically show up, but I think I’m gonna have to wait till release day on this one. Sigh. RELEASE DATE: October 6, 2015

a madness

7. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis – So this is really not the type of book I typically reach for, elements of historical fiction and horror, but the thriller aspect, the crime solving and then the whole insanity question piqued my interest. I suspect this book is going to play with the edges of what constitues madness and mental illness and especially compared to our modern day definitions… I’m just really curious to see what she does with this. RELEASE DATE: October 6, 2015

the anatomy

8. The Anatomy of Curiosity by Maggie Stiefvater, Brenna Yovanoff & Tessa Gratton -This is actually a short story collection, a follow-up to a collection the trio put out previously. I’m always, always on the lookout for good short stories. Hell, I’m torturing myself by judging a short-story competition this month I’m that desperate! I don’t know what it is about them, they carry their own brand of magic, and I’ve never been able to write them myself I’m far too long winded, so I hold those that can do it well up with a certain amount of awe and respect. RELEASE DATE: October 1, 2015

winter

9. Winter by Marissa Meyer – Alright, this is another one that basically forces the whole series onto my list. I’ve only read Cinder so far, which was enough to tell me I wanted to finish the series. I have the other books, so I don’t really know what I’m waiting for, I guess Winter to come out finally so I can just binge read the whole series without having to wait for anything else in between. It’s so much more fun that way! RELEASE DATE: November 10, 2015 i.e. FOREVER

wonderful death

10. It’s a Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmidt – This sounds like such a fun read, a contemporary YA take on a very funny afterlife. It’s a little bit supernatural, a little bit contemporary, a little bit coming of age and redemption, maybe even a little romance and it sounds like a lot of funny when the handsome but distracted grim reaper accidentally scoops up queen bee R.J. into the after-life. And when she’s given the chance to fix it, well everything just goes wrong, wrong, wrong. RELEASE DATE: October 6th, 2015

CATCHING UP TO THE CROWD:

everything everything

1. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – It takes something a little bit extraordinarny to make me reach for contemporary. I’ve just been so disappointed by so many pointless whiney romances in the genre that I tend to steer clear and wait for something really good to come along. By all acounts, this book is that something good. I’ve had this one for months, and it’s kept getting pushed back on my schedule as well, but I’m hoping to get into it right after Illuminae, so I can finally see what the buzz is all about for myself. Technically, this one only released September 1st, so it could go under Fall Releases, but since I’ve had it so long and everyone else has already read it, I really felt like it was more of a Catch Up read.

the corrdor

2. The Corridor by A.N. Willis – This is a really cool parallel worlds story with a twist, and I’ve had this one for review, but haven’t had a chance to get to it, but the second book in the series is coming out the end of September so I really want to get this one read so I can get to the second one because the concept behind these books is just awesome.

catch

3. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – I have this one on my list this fall for my Banned Books Week read this year. I’ve been wanting to read it forever. It’s been staring me down from my bookshelf forever, but I finally made time for it on my reading schedule, so I’m excited about that. And a little embarrassed. My sophomore history teacher recommended this one for me and it’s taken me this long to get to it. Does that explain to you the sheer expanse of my TBR?

iq84

4. IQ84 by Haruki Murakami – This is another one that’s been on the list for a while and another dystopian must read that I somehow haven’t read. It’s also another parallel world story, which if you are paying attention to my lists is becoming a huge theme for me. And I’m honestly excited, this is my first Murakami read, but I have a soaring suspicion that I’m going to be a huge fan.

a thousand

5. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – Let’s just continue with parallel universes all around for my next several picks, shall we? Ugh, I was so excited to finally have the beautiful hardcover of this book in my hands after my trip to Powell’s Books in Oregon this summer, but I still haven’t made time to read it! It’s definitely on my list for fall, especially since the sequel, Ten Thousand Skies Above You is out on November 3rd and is actually what should have been on my list. Honestly, if I’m feeling ambitious, I’ll probably try and read them both.

6. Now That You’re Here and While You Were Gone by Amy K. Nichols – Rounding out the parallel universes theme are these two books in the Duplexity Series. (Amy, Amy, Amy if you are reading this I’m sorry I haven’t read your books yet!) So Amy is a super sweet local author that I’ve met several times and stayed in touch with. I totally fell in love with the idea of her books when I first heard her talking about them at Phoenix Comicon, turns out she used to be a staffer there like me, but when she became a fancy author they kicked her off the team and made her be one of the famous people instead. I’m totally hoping that’s what happens to me! Anyway, these books–my lovely signed copies of these books–sound so cool and I’ve been dying to dig into them, but too busy life and sadly, no T.A.R.D.I.S., anyway –  they are finally scheduled for fall and I’m excited!

starwars

7. Dark Disciple: Star Wars by Christie Golden – Ok, so yes there are about a gazillion Star Wars books coming out this fall to promote the release of the new film and I’m totally excited about just about every one of them, but this one I already have and this one hearkens back to Clone Wars, which still for me, the feels are so intense and this one is about Ventress who was starting to have such a fantastic character arc when the series ended so I really am so curious about what they do with her here. And then there’s that whole inexplicable thing I have for kick-ass female assassins.

ember

8. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – This is a little more strictly fantasy than I usually venture towards, but with so many recommendations this one is impossible to ignore, and it sounds simply beautiful. I’ve had my hands on this one for a while now too, but haven’t had a chance to dig into it yet, so I’ve got it scheduled as a fall read and I’m looking forward to seeing what all the buzz is about on this one. And gods, I love that cover.

acotar

9. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass – I haven’t read anything by Maas yet, so it was either this or put the entire Throne of Glass series on my list for fall and this just seemed a little more manageable. That and I really liked the description of ACOTAR. It’s always been the one that’s pulled to me a little bit more, even though I hate the idea of starting yet another series and having to wait in agony for the books to come out, I think this one just might be worth the pain.

angelfall

10. Angelfall by Susan Ee – Yes, I know, I’m starting yet another series but I just cannot get this one off my mind and every time I see someone post something about it I’m green with jealousy and so anxious to start reading it. This series just appeals to me on so many levels and I’m a little bit thrilled that I didn’t find out about it until late in the game because I get to binge read!

Ok, that completes this week’s Top Ten Twenty list. Let us know what you think. Did you have any of the same books on your fall TBR list? Leave us links to your Top Ten lists below!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Falling Through My TBR

      • I read the first one in a day. Like a few hours. Couldn’t stop. Haha I’m pacing myself now so I haven’t started the third one yet, I’ll be a little bit sad when I’m done! But I’m glad Six of Crows is in the same world

  1. Winter is on my Fall list, but a lot of these are on my list in general. I actually just returned Dark Disciple with out cracking it since I’ve been too busy reading Pillars of the Earth for Book Club and Scorch Trials to read it.

      • I had placed it on hold and then suspended it so I could read The Maze Runner books, or at least the first two, before the Scorch Trials movie came out. But the suspension expired before I realized it and it showed up on my desk on morning. And of course, I participate in our Friends of the Library book club with my manager, and this month the book is Pillars of the Earth, all 983 pages of it! So I didn’t get a chance to read it with the other reading I’ve been doing. I only got so far in Scorch Trials too before I realized I’d never get any of PotE read if I didn’t devote all my reading time to it. I’m only on page 383 and I have a little over a week to read it, darn migraine keeping me from reading! However, as soon as I get these done, I’m reading it (I think that’s the second book I’ve said that about now…). I was a big Clone Wars fan so I can’t wait to see what happens to Ventress.

        And yes, so many books, so little time. I’m going to take time off in December and just read.

      • Oh wow! Yah I didn’t realize Pillars was that long that’s crazy! I watched the mini series though so I guess that makes sense! Lol. Sorry about the migraine! I get those too and it just throws all plans out the window! And yeah I loved the clone wars too so that’s why I was so excited about this one!

      • I’m on page 604! I have a week left. I just got the miniseries this morning. I’m going to watch it this weekend. Yes! They can! They really drain you physically and mentally. Hopefully I have time to read it before the end of the year.

  2. So many of these were already on my list, but it definitely just grew more! I need to go back and re-read Catch-22. I didn’t like it as a young teen, but I get the feeling I would feel quite different these days. Nice list!

    • Thanks Meg! Yah I’m looking forward to reading Catch-22 finally. The humor of it has always appealed to me, the passages I’ve read; so I’m hoping I’ll really enjoy it.

    • I know I feel like everyone has already read them! But they seem to be getting good reviews all around as well so that’s encouraging. My Illuminae start got pushed back by a migraine so I’m still waiting to dig in. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. We have ALOT of the same books we want to read this fall! I just found out about This Wonderful Death today when I was on goodreads earlier! I think the synopsis sounds amazing, so I can’t wait to pick it up. I haven’t read ANYTHING from Margaret yet, (don’t judge me) and since I said I wanted to read more dystopian, what better way to do it than to start with an author who is known for doing it well! I won a pre-order giveaway for Six Of Crows, so I can not wait until that baby is in my hands. Ugh the hardcover is so beautiful. As for Illuminae and ACOTAR, you are going to loveee them. Illuminae was so unique, and ACOTAR is one of my favorite fantasy re-tellings! Seriously I would hump the crap out of Rhysand lol. Do you want to buddy read Angelfall? I purchased it for my birthday and still haven’t been able to read it yet. I’m shooting for November or December!

    • Hahahaha only you Tika would jump the crap out of a book character lol! And yes absolutely to a buddy read for Angelfall. November or December would be perfect. Pick a date and I’ll put it on my calendar and make sure I have it by then. ( I honestly can’t remember if I already bought the eBook of the first one I’ll have to check lol)! Yay!

  4. Wow, you’ve really got a big list there but they are great choices! I really need to read A Thousand Pieces of you and it’s sequel but I just have no idea when I’m getting to them as you know haha.

    I really, really love Illuminae, An Ember in the Ashes, and obviously Six of Crows. I received Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights on Netgalley but like you, I’ve never read anything from the author before. If you get to it before me (which is very likely) you’ll have to tell me what you think =)

    • Hey Brit!! I have no idea when I’ll get to those either, I’m hoping to schedule them for maybe the end of November but we’ll see. Again, I’m glad I don’t have your schedule. Did we ever decide when we are all reading DOSAB? And I wish I would have known the Rushdie title was on Netgalley. I totally would have requested that one! I just don’t have time to keep up with checking it all the time. Oh well.

  5. Pingback: Sunday Street Team: Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith {Interview & Giveaway} | Aurelia {lit} {geek} {chic}

What's on your mind?

