Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Bad Bookish Ways

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week we do a specially themed Top 10 list, and this week’s theme is:
Top Ten Bookish Habits I Want to Break

I think I might have actually found a list where I don’t have to go over ten. I mean I’m sure I could, but I don’t feel compelled to.

This will be a pretty simple, straightforward list, but I’m really looking forward to seeing who else shares my faults and aspirations.

So, without further ado, I give you my…

top ten habits

1. Reading multiple books at once. Usually, I have about three in different stages of completing that I hover back and forth between depending on my mood, but sometimes there can be as many as seven. In my defense; usually at least one is non-fiction or a writing craft book, but the rest, are just what I’m feeling. This means it takes me forever to finish anything!

2. Starting a book only to get distracted by a shiny new book and abandon the old book altogether. And then sometimes this happens and I never actually get back to the old books, but I do finish the shiny new one, or almost finish it and move on to a shinier newer one!

3. Piles and stacks of books everywhere. Because there are twenty-three books stacked near my head right now, and last week the table they are on got knocked by the dog causing a book avalanche, which involved liquids and electronics and heart palpitations.

piles and stacks

4. Books as coasters. Because yes, sometimes I do things like this:

"Nevermind that I have an office. Working on the couch. You can see my manuscript that I'm currently editing, Cinder waiting for a review, Now That You're Here waiting to be read, my notebook open to blogging notes, and a mass market copy of Game of Thrones I picked up free at Phoenix Comicon serving as a coffee coaster. You can't see my netbook on my lap and the audiobook of Ancillary Justice I'm listening to. #multitasking #organizedchaos " From my Instagram Feed @once.upon.a.never.after

“Nevermind that I have an office. Working on the couch. You can see my manuscript that I’m currently editing, Cinder waiting for a review, Now That You’re Here waiting to be read, my notebook open to blogging notes, and a mass market copy of Game of Thrones I picked up free at Phoenix Comicon serving as a coffee coaster. You can’t see my netbook on my lap and the audiobook of Ancillary Justice I’m listening to. #multitasking #organizedchaos ” From my Instagram Feed @once.upon.a.never.after

5. Shelf Disarray. Because as much as I do like my unorganized chaos, I need a semblance of a system, so that I don’t keep finding that I own three copies of the same book or am missing the first book of a series that I know I once had or have to look in four rooms and 12 bookcases for the book I want. Also right now, I just need some pretty.

6. Not finishing series. So I didn’t realize I really had that big of a problem with this until a previous Top Ten Tuesday post. But apparently I do, in a big way. So what have I done since then? Started another series. Sigh.

7. Writing reviews right away and for every read. Sometimes I just need to let the story percolate in my mind for a day or two, but too often that day or two turns into a week and then a month. My list of books I’ve read and not reviewed is absolutely embarrassing at this point, and I have to get this bad habit under control.

8. Waiting until the last minute to read books with reviews due. I’ll admit it, I’m a deadline driven person, and sometimes those self-imposed deadlines just aren’t enough. So too many times I end up reading a book the day before the review needs to be up and that doesn’t give me that extra day I really need to process things, so a few days later I think of things I wish I’d added or really see a little differently.

9. Reading only what’s on my schedule instead of what I feel like once in a while. As bloggers, we all have heavy reading schedules. Try adding writer, publishing intern and editor to that and your free reading time starts to sound like something out of a fairytale. But it’s important to keep from getting burnt out in this business. I’m trying to cut myself some slack on my reading schedule and pencil in some free reads or just take a day now and then to lose myself in whatever the hell I want.

10. Gifting instead of loaning books. I’m tired of loaning books that I never get back and feeling bad about it, trying to keep track of who has what, and wondering if I’ll ever see the books or the friend again. I’d much rather just gift the book if it’s one I can part with or decline the loan if it’s one I can’t and move on feeling better about the whole thing. I already do this with my niece and nephews. And it just makes more sense for me.

sheldon books

Ok, that completes this week’s Top Ten list. No cheating this week! Yay! Let us know what you think. Did you have any of the same vices on your list? Leave us links to your Top Ten lists below!

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bad Bookish Ways

  1. I’m with you there on the stacks and stacks of books, and shelf disarray 😶 I really need to organize my books! I’ve not gotten to not finishing a book series, mostly just comics, but I can see that happening to me.

    • Lol I know the books as coasters is probably the WORST habit I have!!! It’s because my couch is usually my office instead of my actual office. Lol. And I’m glad someone got the Black Books reference!

  2. BOOKS AS COASTERS?! ARE YOU INSANE?! *dies*

    Though, I have to admit that I, too, have a rather substantial stack of books sitting on my nightstand that are all vying for my attention and waiting to be read… >.> Thankfully, my dog is being taken care of by my pops at the moment. No doubt she and her clumsiness would definitely knock it over. Oh the horror of liquids and books! *Dies again*

    And lastly. I do not, absolutely do not, know how you read multiple books at one time. My brain does not handle such a concept. It tries. I just recently got into this Netgalley thing and now I have a few to read for that, but I still have my normal books to read. I’m reading three right now… I’m really worried about how it’s going to go. >.> Perhaps you have a secret as to how you keep it all straight. If so, DO TELL!

    • Ok I should have put please don’t throw tomatoes at me under the coasters confession. It’s clearly my worst habit! As far as keeping everything straight with Netgalley etc? Spreadsheets are your friend!

      • Tomatoes?! What is this? The dark ages? :p But I guess when it comes to books I’m mildly paranoid… No bent pages. No broken spine. No water marks. Nothing. Even after reading I want it to look like it’s hot off the press. :p I’m weird. It’s okay. You can say it. Haha!

      • No I’m very careful because I’m the same way. I get mad at my nephew because he’s a page corner marker and I’m constantly buying him bookmarks!! Lol. If a book gets damaged I recycle it into an art project and have to buy a brand new perfect copy. And I’ve been through probably 16 moves so my books are in amazing shape considering sweaty guys throwing them around! Lol.

      • Oh my goodness!! My brother and his fiance are the same way! They’re constantly bending the books so far, breaking the spine, and tucking the front cover to touch the back when they read! *cringes* It drives me insane! I don’t lend out books anymore because I’m paranoid. :p

        And my biggest problem is that I don’t like borrowing books or getting new copies because there’s just something nice about having the copy that I originally read. Does that make sense in some really odd fashion? (probably not)

      • Yah they are kind of like your friends. Sometimes I like the same copy sometimes it doesn’t matter. In one of the few cases were I’ve defaced a fiction book which I only do with cheap mass market copies and usually if I’m studying them. I have this old beat up copy of The Giver that I’ve read several times and I have notes and comments in the margins from every time I’ve read it and it’s so interesting to see how my thought and attitudes and opinions have changed over the years as I’ve grown older or just what different parts of the book meant to me at different times in my life. I wouldn’t trade that for a nice hardcover version that would look lovely on my shelf in a million years.

      • I’m not sure whether to admire you or hate you for this admission(not sure that’s the right word, but we’re going with it. :p). The fact that you wrote in a book irks the bejeezus out of me, but I totally get enjoying how your opinion changes over time. ^.^

      • Highlighting non fic is different for me though. It’s for studying and learning and those books don’t need to stay pristine in my mind. :p it’s okay. I’m weird because I differentiate rules based on type of book. ^.^

  3. 1 and 3 are my big sins. And then there’s reader’s panic – being overwhelmed by the numbers of books already there that you want to read, and the number of new ones that are coming through all the time. Running like mad to keep up with the tide of books.

    • Lol oh I just can’t even think of that, I would die. I made peace long ago with the fact that it’s impossible. So you learn to be really selective in your reading choices. What is really worthy of this slot in your limited reading lifespan? Lol.

  4. Promise me you’ll stop with the books as coasters, I may not sleep tonight! 😀 7, 9, and 10 are ALL me. I SAY I will write the reviews ASAP… and then 5 months later I barely remember what happened! (I have gotten better at this just by basically NOT reading books early- because I will apparently never stop procrastinating on reviews 😉 ) And I used to be good at series, but now you might as well mark me down for #6 too. I WANT to finish them, but.. time. And I can’t even tell you how long it has been since I read a non-review book. I feel your pain!!

    • Hahahahaha Shannon! I didn’t realize my coaster confession was going to affect so many people so deeply! Lol. I have not used a book as a coaster in three days. I am three days book coaster sober. Would you like to be my sponsor?

What's on your mind?

