Interviews / Sunday Street Team

Sunday Street Team: Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith {Interview & Giveaway}

1

Hi kids, today, as a part of Nori’s Sunday Street Team, I’m super excited to have Lindsay Smith here for an interview about her new book Dreamstrider! You might remember me whining about how much I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book during my Fall TBR post!

I’m hoping to fit it into my reading schedule for next month, I’ve had to listen to my friends rave about it the last few weeks, so I’m even more excited to read it now! So let’s start off with the interview and then I’ve got some extra stuff I dug up, then we’ll get to all the details on the book and we’ve got a fantastic giveaway!

Interview with the Author

Hi Lindsay, your latest book, Dreamstrider was recently published by Roaring Book Press. Congratulations! Can you tell us a little about it?

Dreamstrider follows the story of Livia, a girl working for her empire’s spy service who has the unique ability to manipulate people through their dreams. As an outside army threatens her empire, Livia tries to master her power to uncover their plans, but the more she tries to control people via the dreamworld, the more she finds her dreams seeping into her real world.

What does your writing process look like?

I like to let a story idea stew for several months, or sometimes even years–often that’s how long it takes for me to make room for it in my schedule! By the time I’m ready to write, though, I feel I have a deep familiarity with the world and characters. I didn’t use to be an outliner, but I’m now a convert. I’ll do a very rough sketch of an outline, then flesh it out beat by beat, and that allows me to write an extremely quick first draft (usually 4-6 weeks).

Top ten snacks while writing?

I try not to eat while writing, but I will definitely take snack breaks between writing sprints. 😉 Popcorn is my No. 1. I’m a popcorn fiend. Then I love to snack on cheese slices, onigiri (Japanese sticky rice balls), french fries, all those good carbo load foods. I’m not opposed to having a hard cider or four while I draft, as well.

(I think I need to try that method! LOL)

Do you plan to write more stories based in the same world, maybe continue the timeline?

I actually did write a short story prequel called “Kingmaker” that takes place shortly before the events of Dreamstrider, and features some of the secondary characters in the book. (Read it here). I definitely have some big ideas for a follow-up that would feature a different character who gets introduced later in Dreamstrider, but it would be more of a companion novel than a sequel.

That’s definitely exciting news for fans of Dreamstrider!

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating this book?

Dreamstrider is the book that convinced me that I really need to be an outliner! I love writing with only a general sense of direction–maybe five to eight major plot points fixed in my mind–but I’ve found that the sorts of stories I love are just too intricate to not plan out in advance. I did a lot of structural work on Dreamstrider in the revisions and have started outlining much more fully in all my projects since.

Do you dream? What are your dreams like? Any recurring themes?

I have gotten book ideas from dreams–though not Dreamstrider! Mainly, though, my dreams are the super annoying kind where I dream that I’m getting up in the morning, dragging myself out of bed, getting ready for work, etc., and then I wake up for real and have to do it all over again. Ugh! I also have lots of dreams where I’m trying to accomplish some sort of task, but the chaotic dream world is constantly stymying me, making it so much more complicated. I always wake up extremely frustrated from those.

Thanks so much for visiting with us Lindsay. One last question. Can you share with us anything about what you are working on now?

I’m currently revising my Fall 2016 book with Roaring Brook, titled A Darkly Beating Heart. I call it my angry bisexual Japanese time travel revenge fantasy book. 🙂 I also have a short story in an awesome anthology called A Tyranny of Petticoats, which features girls throughout US history and includes stories from authors like Marissa Meyer, Marie Lu, Jessica Spotswood, Robin Talley, and many more.

Wow, with that kind of a description, I’m sold! Another one we can’t wait for! Thanks again Lindsay!

About the AuthorLindsay SmithAuthor of YA historical thrillers SEKRET and SKANDAL and the forthcoming YA fantasy DREAMSTRIDER (all from Macmillan Children’s). Russophile, foreign affairs junkie, nerd.

Find Her All The Places:

Website | Twitter | Blog | Goodreads | Tumblr | Google+

About the Book

Title: Dreamstrider
Author: Lindsay Smith
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Thriller
Publication: Roaring Brook Press, Oct 6, 2015

dreamstrider

Synopsis:

A high-concept, fantastical espionage novel set in a world where dreams are the ultimate form of political intelligence.

Livia is a dreamstrider. She can inhabit a subject’s body while they are sleeping and, for a short time, move around in their skin. She uses her talent to work as a spy for the Barstadt Empire. But her partner, Brandt, has lately become distant, and when Marez comes to join their team from a neighborhing kingdom, he offers Livia the option of a life she had never dared to imagine. Livia knows of no other dreamstriders who have survived the pull of Nightmare. So only she understands the stakes when a plot against the Empire emerges that threatens to consume both the dreaming world and the waking one with misery and rage.

A richly conceived world full of political intrigue and fantastical dream sequences, at its heart Dreamstrider is about a girl who is struggling to live up to the potential before her.

Add to Goodreads

amazon_button

Barnes & Noble

I also just have to take a minute to talk about this totally amazing cover designed by Elizabeth H. Clark and illustrated by NastPlas, the creative duo of artists from Madrid. I found the full original cover art from NastPlas that’s wrapped around this gorgeous book and I just had to share it with you all because it’s stunning (click to enlarge):

Dreamstrider full cover art

This just became my computer desktop wallpaper for the foreseeable future! Isn’t it lovely? Such talent!

Giveaway Time

excited jlaw gif

sunday street team buttonWe’ve got 15 copies of Dreamstrider to give away and we want you to win 1 of them!

Win a copy of
Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith
(US/Canada only)
Ends 10/30

giveaway2

Good Luck everyone!

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoyed the interview and the artwork. Have any of you read Dreamstrider yet? What did you think? Anyone have this book on your TBR? Feel free to leave links to reviews below! Later lovelies!

bex sig

What's on your mind?

