Contests & Giveaways / Interviews / Tour

Z Resurrected The Zombie Blog Tour {Interview with T.M. Williams & Giveaway}

Z Resurrected Banner

Alright everyone, we’ve got a something special in store for you today just in time for you to get your creepy Halloween reads on. We are bringing you the blog tour for the new zombie anthology Z Resurrected written by some of the biggest and baddest zombie writers in the business. This book is super cool, because it takes characters’ from the authors’ previous zombie books and brings them back for the stories in this collection and today we are letting them loose on you! We’ve got a full tour. 6 Stops, 6 Authors, with interviews, excerpts and tons of zombie books up for grabs! I’ve got The Apocalypse author T.M. Williams here for an interview and giveaway but first let’s talk a little more about Z Resurrected...

About the Book

Title: Z Resurrected
Authors: Dana Fredsti, Tom Leveen, Joe McKinney, Eric A. Shelman, Mark Tufo, & T.M. Williams
Genre: Short Stories, Anthology, Horror, Zombies
Publication: Half Light Publishing; October 14, 2015
ISBN: 978-0692556160

In this anthology, six horror authors revisit some of their most infamous zombie characters, resurrecting the undead. Contributing authors to Z Resurrected are some of horror’s best, who have each carved a distinct path in the world of zombies: Dana Fredsti, Tom Leveen, Joe McKinney, Eric A. Shelman, Mark Tufo, and T.M. Williams.

Find Out More:

ZResurrected.com

Goodreads | Amazon

zres_final_ebook

Interview with the Author

Hi T.M., Thanks for chatting. Your zombies have been called terrifying because they’re not the typical Hollywood zombie, they are a smarter breed. How did that idea evolve and what was it like writing a new zombie mythos?

It stemmed from a nightmare I had the night I read World War Z. The first chapter in Undead Winter (the novella version of The Apocalypse) was my actual nightmare. I wasn’t thinking of turning it into anything at the time. My first book was set to release within weeks and I had this nightmare that terrified me – ya know the kind? They stay with you all day and you can’t shake it? That. To this day I remember every second of it and that was 2 years ago.

So I write down a paragraph or two on my Facebook and suddenly everyone wants me to ‘finish the story’. Well, next thing I know I had a novelette, then a novella, and eventually the full-length version – The Apocalypse.

How is your story in Z Resurrected related to the events in The Apocalypse? What made you want to revisit that world?

I pulled 3 of my most loved characters from The Apocalypse, Mallory (The First Lady of the United States), Christoph, and Dr. Danny Ruiz. They’re all zombies and in The Apocalypse we watch them turn. Z Resurrected takes place after the end of The Apocalypse. So you get to see what it’s like after things have sort of settled into a post-apocalyptic world. Pretty much everyone and everything is wiped out. There’s not much left. But of course, these characters have survived – which isn’t a surprise to my readers of The Apocalypse.

There was one small storyline in The Apocalypse that never wrapped up – and that was with Mallory’s daughter. She was a little girl at the time and we just assume she never survives. Well, she’s survived and is one of very few humans left.

My story is more of a psychological thriller then it is a typical zombie book. It was a bit scary taking that angle because I know that Joe McKinney, Dana Fredsti, Eric A. Shelman, Mark Tufo, and Tom Leveen have extremely loyal zombie fans. I wasn’t sure how they’d take my approach – but time will tell.

What’s your favorite Zombie Movie?

Night of the Living Dead. It was my first zombie movie. I was a little girl when I saw it and was just fascinated by it. I really like the original zombie movies and George Romero will always be the best, in my opinion.

What does your writing process look like?

I wish I knew. I envy the authors who have the discipline to write 1500 words a day (or whatever their number is). I can’t make myself write. Sometimes I’ll write 8-10,000 words in a day and then go weeks without writing. Other times, I’m consistently writing 2-3 chapters a night for weeks, even months on end.  Right now, I’m doing the latter.

Who would win in a showdown between all of the zombies in Z Resurrected?

Well, let’s just say that’s pretty much exactly what happens in Z Resurrected. You’ll just have to read the book to find out. 😉

What do you have on hand right now to save you in the event of a zombie apocalypse?

Not much. We own a few guns and weapons. I can out drive most everyone I know (which would only take us so far). And then I have a mad maternal instinct. Other than that, we’re not prepared – nothing like some of the doomsday preppers.

I totally want a hidden cabin somewhere in the woods that’s completely prepped.

Kirk or Spock?

Wow! Tough question. I’d have to go with Spock. He sort of reminds me of my husband in their completely grounded logical perspective. So I’d already be used to it. I tend to be more like Kirk, so I don’t know if I can handle another personality like that.

I have a saying – “I always ask myself, what would Jean Luc Picard do? And often I end up acting more like Kirk.”

Where is your favorite place to write?

In bed, propped up against a million pillows with my noise-canceling headphones on.

What is your favorite thing about being a writer? Least favorite thing?

My favorite thing is that I’ve finally found a creative output that satisfies me. I grew up oil painting and never liked what I painted, even though people always seemed to. It just never translated right from my head so I found it more frustrating than anything. Besides, it was the only thing anyone in my family thought I could ever do, and a big part of me wanted to prove them wrong.

I’ve been creating stories in my head for as long as I remember and never once thought to put it down on paper. Once I did, I couldn’t stop.

My other surprisingly favorite thing – and surprising because I never expected it, is my readers. I never in a million years imagined anyone would like my work. I’m still surprised when someone loves my writing and somehow, I’ve found the most amazing loyal group of readers that I can imagine being close friends with. They have the same morbid sense of humor as me and are just simply a great group.

Least favorite thing? The politics. When I find a sincere and genuine writer who loves what they do because they love what they do and are happy for others I hang on. Those are rare people. Unfortunately, this industry (much like any other industry) is filled with a lot of people that don’t want anyone else to succeed. It’s also filled with a lot of people that have very strong opinions about how everyone else should be running their career – which is strange to me, because everyone is different.

What books are you reading for Halloween?

Um, I guess I’m not reading anything specifically for Halloween. I just started on Thirteen Reasons Why and then I’m reading A Long Way Gone.

Can you tell us anything about what you are currently working on?

I’m finishing up Children at the Window, which is way past due and then I’m working on a literary fiction piece that I’ll be shopping out to an agent.

And I might be just a little bit excited about one of those and completely terrified of another one! Thanks, so much, T.M. for talking with us and good luck! Be careful, there are zombies on the loose today!

About the Author

t m williams

T M Williams

T.M. Williams began her writing career by accident when a song inspired a story. Once she discovered the writing bug she couldn’t stop, pegging her ‘The Accidental Writer’. Since beginning her writing career early in 2013 she has gone on to publish a dozen plus novels.

She has been recognized by award-winning international film director, Biju Viswanath, and has contributed writing to Kids Need to Read.

Goodreads | Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon

Giveaway Time

zombies gif

Win 1 Copy of Z Resurrected 

PLUS 1 Set of Undead Winter & The Apocalypse by T.M. Williams

(U.S. Only) (Ends 11/5)
giveWy

But wait…

There’s more…

These Zombies have been unleashed by these 6 authors across the entire blogosphere and they are inflicting casualties fast. We’ve tried to keep them contained. We’ve got the author’s all tied up here on our blogs for now, and you can fight back by going to each and every stop on the tour and

WINNING ALL THE ZOMBIE BOOKS!

Ok,

Admittedly, it’s not a perfect plan, but we fight back with the tools we have at hand.

Stop by Stefani @ Caught Read Handed next to see what she’s done with guest author Dana Fredsti and TAKE AWAY ALL THE ASHLEY PARKER NOVELS!

Then Follow Along the Rest of the Tour!

Have Fun!

But Watch Out.

For Zombies, Obviously.

The Zombie Blog Tour

Tour Stops

Dana Fredsti

Host: Stefani @ Caught Read Handed

Tom Leveen

Host: Tika @ Fangirl Confessions

Joe McKinney

Host: Ashley @ Books Blogging Beauty

Eric A. Shelman

Host: Emily @ Emily Reads Everything

Mark Tufo

Host: Nicole @ Boundless Bookaholic

brains gif

15 thoughts on “Z Resurrected The Zombie Blog Tour {Interview with T.M. Williams & Giveaway}

What's on your mind?

