Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Inventive Future Settings

IMG_3838Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week we do a specially themed Top 10 list, and this week’s theme is:
Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books

Although I love reading books from a variety of different eras, given the choice between a similar story with a contemporary, historical and a futuristic setting, the futuristic one is always going to win out for me.

It just manages to capture my imagination in a way that the settings that I know and can verify with facts never quite does. And I love to see some of the ways that authors play with the limits of the unknown with the future setting. It’s the same reason why most of what I write myself ends up being set in the future.

For today’s top 10 future settings I’d like to see, I tried to match my choices with books that came close. I choose books with future settings that I love. Not necessarily because I’d want to live there, but because I feel like the author took a leap and did something creative and memorable and captured my imagination in a way that thrilled me.

Virtual Reality – I haven’t come across many books that do this, but I know there are more out there. This one is a little obscure, and wonderfully strange but I loved it. I don’t want to give away too much but it’s a post-apocalyptic sci-fi series written by the son of the great Carl Sagan and it’s smart and fun! Idlewild by Nick Sagan.idlewildImmortals – Vampires, Gods, and other’s who have lived long enough to experience not just our own time period but hundreds or thousands of years of history. Enough to have some actual perspective and perhaps though not necessarily wisdom. This could even be humans in the future (or present like Jupiter Ascending). I can’t think of many books off of the top of my head that do this but I’d love to see this as a setting for an entire future culture or race. If anyone has any suggestions, send them my way. I’m also horrible sometimes at keeping track at what I read. I read a book last year where there was a woman who lived a very long time as a ship mother on a space ship as she kept going back into cryo-sleep as successive generations lived and died, and then once they returned to earth thousands of years had passed and it was as if an ice age had returned. If anyone has any idea what book that is, please tell me. I quite liked it!jupiter-ascending-2

Spaceships – I love almost anything set in space, and I’ve seen it done so very many ways that I like. One of my favorite YA ones is Across the Universe by Beth Revis. She introduces a lot of deeper sci-fi concept into a book that you think is going to be a romance set in space. But we are dealing with so much more with this society, not to mention the idea of a self-sustaining generation ship, genetic manipulation, cryogenics, humans in heat and basically being lost in space. It’s a fascinating read.acrossHistorical Future Mashups – Incarceron by Catherine Fischer was one that did this well. Where society had decided that the past was a better time and they all would jus pretend that they were back in the 1800’s or something with no technology and live by the customs and rules of that time period. It was brilliant.incarceronAtlantis – Why is this in the future and not the past? Honestly, maybe it’s just Stargate Atlantis but even before that I’ve always pictured it as a very futuristic city that existed ON ANOTHER PLANET! I have no idea if there is a book about this, if there is please tell me, if not I’ll probably write one. Even if there is, I’ll probably still write one eventually because I have lots of ideas about it. LOL.stargatehThe Near Future Apocalypse – Ok my friends know that I am a huge lover of cheesy sci-fi disaster movies. In fact, the cheesier the better. With a few notable exceptions, if they have a big budget and try too hard to take themselves seriously, I can’t laugh at them and enjoy them. But give me a setting where the earth is about to be destroyed by _________ and I’m a happy girl. A book I read last year that did a good job with this was The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolan {review} but I suspect there are some other good ones out there. Please, tell me!! Also, check out the movie Melancholia with Kirsten Dunst, so beautiful!

Dystopias – I adore them. Yes, they are screwed up but there are also fascinating as to how they are screwed up. And there is usually some pretty cool shit balancing out the screwed up stuff. Too many to mention here but a few of my favs are The Giver by Lois Lowry, Uglies by Scott Westerfeld {review}, Delirium by Lauren Oliver {review} and Unwind by Neal Shusterman.

Living on the Moon – I love this because it just seems like it should be impossible or so impractical. But we humans do impractical awesomely. Two of my favs here are The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein and Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

Aliens and Alien Planets – No future setting would really be complete without us discovering we aren’t alone in the universe, right? I’ll be honest most of the alien settings I know and love come from television shows and movies. And there is a huge list of them. Which makes almost zero sense to me. Why aren’t there more books on my radar about aliens and their worlds? I’ve got a few on my TBR for this year, but an extremely disproportionate number of those are from the Star Wars universe! Shout out to my girl Ava Jae and her Beyond the Red for being the exception to the rule! This is why, I’ve decided, they say write what you want to read.

Societies with Super-Advanced Tech- Robots, Holo-decks, Flying Cars, Neuro-Implants, Genetic Engineering, I could go on for days because I want ALL THE TECH! Any book that has any future tech is cool in my book, but give me one with more and I’ll be in geek heaven. This is a classic but Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K. Dick is still one of my favorites. Look for the graphic novel if you can find it!android

Ok that covers just a few of the future settings I love to read about. Really the ones I probably love the most are the ones I didn’t see coming. My TBR for this year has 76 books on it so far and probably at least 1/3 of those are set in the future so expect a lot of sci-fi reviews from me this year!

If you have recommendations for books in my settings I’d love to hear about them in the comments below. Also, what’s on your Top Ten this Tuesday?

bex sig

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Inventive Future Settings

What's on your mind?

