Book Reviews / Caught My Eye / Lust List / Tour

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk {Mini Tour: Review & Lust List}

Mini Tour Feb 12-14About the Book

arrowsTitle: ARROWS

Author: Melissa Gorzelanczyk

Pub. Date: January 26, 2016

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Format: Hardcover, eBook

*Review Copy Courtesy of Publisher

Find it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Book DepositoryGoodreads

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma and Danny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn’t reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny–perfect for fans of Katie McGarry’s novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Review

What to do when poor cupid messes up? Well, if he’s Aaryn, the hunky son of the legendary Eros he gets a chance to fix the mistake and see just how miserable it can be for the lowly humans left floundering in the wake of the blunders of the gods. The catch is that he doesn’t get any shortcuts this time around. He has to make both sides of the couple that he failed to hit with matching arrows a year ago fall in love with each other the old fashioned way; as a human.

Karma doesn’t have a problem being hopelessly in love. After all, she was the one hit by Aaryn’s arrow and as far as she’s concerned, a year later, Danny, now the teenage father to their daughter Nell can do no wrong.

But what if what was supposed to be an open and shut case of making Danny fall madly in love with Karma in return isn’t exactly what Aaryn finds when he becomes a human. Life, it seems is messier and more complicated than that.

What if Danny and Karma were never meant to be together at all? And what if Aaryn is the man er god for the job but because of that damn arrow, the only way to really make her happy is to give her up to Danny? When did the business of love become so complicated?

This book was absolutely charming to read. A lovely story, peppered with humor, truth, and some beautiful observations on both a small and large scale I fell in love with both the main characters in the dual narrative almost immediately and the style of writing just lifted my soul.

This book had me doing something that I will confess to doing on occasion that I know some people take offense to but I really don’t care. I marked up my ARC to death! I flagged pages with sticky flags, I underlined passages, I wrote notes in the margins. I couldn’t help it. Sometimes there are books that I’m just loving so much, and the author is just getting so much RIGHT that I feel like the book has become not only something that I want to look back on and remember what I felt the first time I read it, but also something of a textbook for me. A how to guide on writing. I think ARC’s are great for this if you are a writer by the way. Or any paperback copy of a book. Yes, I often by a pretty hardcover copy as well that stays shiny and lovely, but my marked up copies hold a special place in my heart.

The romance in this book was very sweet and innocent and at the same time desperate and lovely. I loved that juxtaposition. I liked seeing a teenage mom as a lead character and as a healthy, responsible role model. It happens. Not all teen moms turn out like the ones we see in the tabloids or reality tv shows, and I thought that Karma was a much more accurate portrayal of what happens when a girl is faced with a tough situation and chooses to be responsible. Like I said, for me there was a lot of truth in this book. And a great sense of humor too. Some of my favorite quote-worthy passages are towards the end and give a little too much away but this was one I thought was just beautiful:

“Have a nice day,” the cashier said. She was the kind of girl who looked obsessed with being different: early twenties, piercings everywhere, and spiked hair dyed two bright colors. She seemed sad, though, like she wasn’t getting the attention she wanted in life. I offered a smile and she smiled back, surprised almost, like she hadn’t expected me to do that.

I wished there was a way to tell her I did see her. That we weren’t so different, and that I knew what it was like to feel invisible. Knew the need to control something, even if it was just your hair color.

But remembering my purpose now on Earth, I walked out.

The author also does such a great job with the structure of this story, with the characters goals, and growth and almost every chapter ending is so phenomenal!

I was just absolutely charmed by this book and can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s a quick read and if you like greek mythology I think you’ll get a special kick out of the take on it!

5 hearts

 

Arrows Bookish Lust List

I decided to try something new for this book that I’ve been wanting to add as a feature for a little while now. I have a great appreciation for good fashion and design, and also, often when I’ve read a book that I’ve particularly enjoyed I like to have some sort of memento that goes along with it. Maybe a wearable, maybe a mug or some cool stationary and it doesn’t need to be as overt as saying the name of the book or a quote everyone would recognize. In fact, sometimes the more subtle the better. That way it means something to me and reminds me of that book and maybe those few who care enough to ask about it but it’s sort of my little secret way of loving my favorite books a little more. Since this post was coming up around Valentine’s day and there were just so many really cool and quirky things I loved about this book, I  decided this would be the perfect book to create my first Bookish Lust List. I did this one with three looks inspired by the book and plenty of other droolworthy merch that caught my eye and totally made me think of the book. If you’ve read it you can probably identify where most of the references come from! Enjoy. Oh and see if you can guess which item off the lust list I’m ordering as my memento for this book!

Since this post was coming up around Valentine’s day and there were just so many really cool and quirky things I loved about this book, I  decided this would be the perfect book to create my first Bookish Lust List. I did this one with three looks inspired by the book and plenty of other droolworthy merch that caught my eye and totally made me think of the book. If you’ve read it you can probably identify where most of the references come from! Enjoy. Oh and see if you can guess which item off the lust list I’m ordering as my memento for this book!

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk. Shop the Book. { Lust List }

 

REDvalentino Knee Length Dress | Tommy Hilfiger ‘Cupid College’ Vanessa Knit | Dear Cupid Red Sweatshirt | New York Skyline Printed Midi Skirt | Dance With Me Top | Zoe Karssen Cupid Hearts Slim-fit Pants | Vans Low Tops Red | French Sole FS/NY Jigsaw Ballet Flat | Tamara Mellon Cupid Suede Pumps | Vera Bradley Preppy Poly Backpack | Stellakim Leslie Diaper Tote | Kate Spade Kate Spade Secret Admirer Heart Crossbody | Betsey Johnson Rose Gold-Tone Cupid Pendant Necklace | Stuhrling Aphrodite Delight Watch | Kieselstein-Cord Gold Cupid Pin | Swarovski Rose Goldplated Cupid Earrings | Ted Baker ‘Cupid’s Arrow’ Open Ring | Bling Cupid’s Love Delight Drop Necklace | Allurez Cupid’s Arrow Diamond Accent Ring | Bling Cupid Bow & Arrow Rose Necklace  | Cupid’s Arrow Drop Earrings | Journee Collection Sterling Silver Arrows Earrings | Double Karma Front Toggle Clasp Necklace | Cupid Cameo Pendant Necklace | I’m with Cupid iPhone Case | Red Heart Crazy Cupid Sunglasses | Kate Spade Live Colorfully Perfume | The Stuff That Cupid Dips His Arrows In Hand/Body Lotion  | Deborah Lippmann Break 4 Love Nail Polish | Bucket List Moleskine Notebook | Be Happy Throw Pillow | Dream Big Throw Pillow | Beeswax Tea Lights | Nordstrom at Home ‘Arrows’ Pillow | Kate Spade Paper Notebook Set | Vitra ‘Love Heart’ Mug | Woolf With Me Cupid Arrow Crib Skirt Gold+White | Star Metal Light Box Let’s Dance | Dot & Bo New York Marquee Sign | Kalencom Vegan Diaper Bag | Pink Faux Fur Heart Shaped Pillow

About the Author

AUTHOR-PHOTO-Melissa-Gorzelanczyk_smaller_Credit-Photo-by-Mark-Anderson

Melissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. Her debut young adult novel ARROWS is out now from Random House/Delacorte Press. Proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Also believes love is strong coffee, arrow jewelry and simple, beautiful everyday things.

Find Her All The Places:

Twitter | Blog | Goodreads | Website 

Thanks for stopping by.. do hope you will check this one out and if you stop by Melissa’s blog right now she has a contest going on with several other debut author’s for copies of all of their books. Go check it out and as always, let me know what you thought about anything you’ve seen here today in the comments.

Happy Reading!

bex sig

What's on your mind?

